About us

Pictured: SPS officers 2018-2019.
Back row: Abheek, Jeremy, Austin, Viktoria, Tyler, Jason, Royce
Front row: Julia, Riley, Redoan, Praj

Contact Information

We’re a chapter of the national SPS organization and also part of Washington University’s Student Union. We’re here to help you all get excited about, learning about, and involved in all things physics. We also serve as a liaison between undergraduate students and the Physics Department. If you’d like to get involved with running SPS, get some help starting a new initiative in the department, or would like to volunteer with a committee, please contact us at any time! We’d love to hear from you.

Fall 2018 Leadership

Core Officers

  • President: Tyler Satchel Orden
  • Vice President: Julia Cohen
  • Treasurer: Ryan Wahidi
  • Secretary: Jason Tang
  • Historian: Viktoria Ohstrom
  • Public Relations: Jeremy Smith and Riley Martell
  • Webmaster: Redoan A. Salam
  • Faculty Advisor: Kater Murch
  • Honorary Advisor: Arthur Holly Compton

Curriculum Committees (New Majors)

  • Chair: Austin Stover
  • Vice Chair: Royce Dong
  • Members:
    • Prajwal Keranahalli
    • Abheek Raviprasad
    • Jeremy Smith

Undergraduate Representative to Renovations Committee

  • Members:
    • Jeremy Smith

Undergraduate Representatives to the Physics Department Workplace Climate and Diversity Committee

  • Members:
    • Tyler Satchel Orden
    • Riley Martell
    • Viktoria Ohstrom

The objectives of the Society of Physics Students shall be to:

  1. Encourage and assist students interested in physics to develop the knowledge, competence, enthusiasm, and social responsibility that are essential to the advancement of physics
  2. Stimulate interest in advanced study and research in physics
  3. Develop collegiality among physics students and faculty members
  4. Promote public interest in physics
  5. Provide liaison between students and the member societies of the American Institute of Physics
  6. Recognize high scholarship and potential achievement in physics among outstanding students by means of Sigma Pi Sigma membership


Washington University SPS